There are numerous ways in which you can revise but which one will work for you ?

Personally, I had to try so many techniques until I finally came to a decision. So last summer 2016 I did my GCSE and from there I realised which techniques would work for me and I’m still trying some new ones out 🙂 As well as that it depends what type of learner you are  here is a link to a website where you can do a quiz and find out what type of learner you are. http://www.educationplanner.org/students/self-assessments/learning-styles-quiz.shtml

I’m going to list my subjects and state which revision techniques I use.

Biology:

– I make mindmaps so I can condense all the notes into one A4 page and I find mindmaps so easy to learn from and they don’t look as scary as a large textbook that has so many words. I also add colours to my mindmaps, I use highlighters and fineliners. I remember when I used to always write in black and blue and my  friends would be shocked because I don’t use colours for any of my notes. Look who uses colours who her notes 24/7

-I also do a lot of past paper questions which helps me so much with how to answer specific questions. At school we have topic tests and it helps me a lot with how I am at, at different subjects.

-I also explain to myself without looking at my notes and this helps me so much you will not understand !! I just stand up and I will explain it to myself or an ‘imaginary person’.

Chemistry:

-This is the same with Biology,I make mindmaps on every single topic to make my mindmaps I use the specification and my textbook.

-I do many past paper questions. I find Physics and Maths tutor extremely helpful as he has questions for many topics in chemistry and other subjects so I use those resources.

-I also explain to myself without looking at any of my notes and see how much I can remember as well as that with topics like calculations there is nothing much to memorise except from practising so questions from textbooks are very helpful.

Economics:

-For economics I have a few flashcards for topics that require a lot of memorising and topics that I’m very weak at. I’ve made these flashcards a few weeks ago and it has helped so much that the topics that were quite hard to grasp have becoming very comprehensive.

-I also do questions from my textbook so that’s been helping me a lot, they also have answers at the back which I check my answers with.

-I also make mindmaps like Biology and Chemistry with a lot of colours. I also find writing things down again and again can be extremely helpful when it comes to memorising.

Maths:

-For maths I do so many past paper questions this is what I did for my gcse and I managed to get a top grade. Past papers are a key to success they are like your best friends. I cannot stress how important past papers are,this is for all subjects not just Maths. I have a spreadsheet on excel where I record the scores that I’ve been getting for every single past paper this helps me to see if I’m doing well and which papers I need to do again.

-For topics that I find hard, I make notes with a lot of colours.

 

Generally for all of my subjects I use youtube for help because I seem to comprehend and retain more from youtube and it’s honestly a great resource. If you do the same subjects or similar subjects at any level then I hope this has helped you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

